Am I doing enough work?

I seem to spend more time thinking about revising than actually doing the revision. With two days to go until the exam, things are not looking promising! Lab work is somewhat tedious at the moment, today all I have to do is take my plates out of the incubator and put them in the fridge; not super exciting. The thing is, I don’t really know what to set out doing once I’ve finished my initial tests. Do I start the main part of the project or do I go all the way with these initial tests? Perhaps not, as this would mean that I will have completed most of my project in less than 3 weeks!

Excitingly, I have some results to use. They may, however, be wrong because of my lack of experience in making plates and growing things without the supervision of a qualified lab supervisor.

Perhaps a meeting with my supervisor is due after my initial tests, to discuss what I have found and what how I should progress, however, I don’t want to be completely dependant on my supervisor. I need to show some level of active thinking and problem solving abilities but at the same time I don’t want to go completely off track!

One thing that I did need to start doing is writing in my lab book. At the moment it only has a title page and my name and address written on the first page. I’m so scared of messing it up that I write what I do every day in my organising diary and then I will eventually write them in the large workbook they’ve given us. I think I’m milking the fact that I have an exam on Monday and have used this as a long running excuse not to look at my lab book or even think about writing in it!

After Monday I’m sure things will get back to normal, but I will no doubt find another excuse to justify not writing up what I’ve been doing.

Leave a Reply

